NOTD! Essie ‘Butler Please’

I have always loved Essie polishes so when I heard recently that it was being stocked at Priceline, I immediately headed down to pick up a new shade for my burgeoning nail polish collection.

131009 - Essie 1

Essie polishes normally retail for $18.95 each so I don’t have too many in my collection, but the introductory offer at Priceline brought the price down to $12.95 a bottle. This little baby caught my eye straight away. I can’t believe I managed to control myself and only bought one!

‘Butler Please’ is a bright cobalt blue shade that also happens to be the same colour as my husband’s favourite Rugby Union team (Western Force) so I am sure this will get a lot of wear when the season starts again next year 🙂

131009 - Essie 2

Pictured above is two coats topped with Sally Hansen Insta-Dri Anti-Chip Top Coat. I found the application a lot more difficult than the other Essie polishes I’ve used in the past – the consistency of the polish was really goopy so the first coat went on very streaky and tacky. A thicker second coat evened the colour out, which dried to a strange matte rubbery finish. I’m not a fan – it reminded me of a latex balloon! Because the formula is so sticky, it doesn’t allow much room for error so you have to be extra careful with application. This is definitely a polish that benefits from a shiny top coat. The shinier the better!

I actually swatched this last week but had the same problems with application and the polish chipped less than 24 hours later. I thought it was something that I did so I decided to try it again. It’s definitely the polish! I’m trying it with a different top coat this time so hopefully will have better luck with longevity.

I do love the colour though, it’s such a vibrant blue and I don’t have anything like this in my collection. It’s a shame that the formula is so awful.

131009 - Essie 3

Do you like Essie nail polishes? What colours have you tried?

4 thoughts on “NOTD! Essie ‘Butler Please’

Leave a Reply

