Antipodean Beauties – My Favourite Lipstick

Antipodean Beauties
Antipodean Beauties is a brand-new group of Aussie and Kiwi bloggers participating in a weekly series of themed make-up challenges, organised by the lovely Omega from Fashion Adjacent. If you are interested in joining in, please check out the Facebook page here – there more the merrier!

Our very first theme? ‘My Favourite Lipstick’

Now I haven’t been the biggest lipstick person (I’m more of an eye make-up kinda gal) – I’ve only just embraced ‘throwing on a bit of lippy’ in the past few months and have been know to *gasp* omit the lipstick even with a full face of make-up. I don’t mind a bit of lip gloss here and there though, plus I am quite fond of the Burt’s Bees Lip Shimmer range which is actually more a of lip balm with a hint of colour. I am lucky that my lips are naturally quite pigmented so (I think) I can get away without lippy sometimes.

My favourite lipstick is one that I wouldn’t have ever dared to pick out for myself. It was actually chosen for me while I was testing out different foundations at Mecca Cosmetica and the girl doing my make-up suggested I try something a bit outside my comfort zone. I must have been feeling a bit more daring that day and I am so glad she suggested it now as it is such a fabulous colour and instantly peps me up! I love the packaging, those little cartoon flowers are just so darn cute.

130807 - My Favourite Lipstick 1a

Stila Long Wear Lip Color – Matte in ‘Intriguing’ is a bright pink, highly pigmented, matte lipstick that comes in a thin pen-like applicator. I like the smaller tip with this lipstick as it gives me greater control of how much I apply – when I first got it I only used to dab it onto my lips really lightly as the colour was soo.. pink, but as I have become more confident with the colour I have gradually used more. It is also a fantastic base colour under various shades of lip gloss – I just can’t leave my lips matte 🙂

130807 - My Favourite Lipstick 2

Here it is with Lancôme Juicy Tubes Lip Gloss in ‘Moulin Rose’ over the top. It’s such a pretty colour!

130807 - My Favourite Lipstick 3

I hope you enjoyed my first Antipodean Beauties post. Why not check out the other blogs below to see what lipsticks are their favourites?

What is your favourite lipstick?

*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

6 thoughts on “Antipodean Beauties – My Favourite Lipstick

  1. That’s a beautiful colour – I’m surprised you wouldn’t pick it out. I don’t think it’s too wild 🙂 But maybe it’s because I love a bold lip… he he xx

    • Thanks Chelsea! The colour is definitely buildable – I put it on again over the weekend and went bold with it, but then got cold feet before I walked out the door and blotted, blotted, blotted down 🙂 One day!!

Leave a Reply

