Olay Regenerist Advanced Cleaning System

Hello, my name is Tracey and I have terrible skin. I’ve always had terrible acne-prone and blemished skin – from when I was a teenager well into my 20’s. Then I got pregnant and my skin went all hormonal on me and has never really recovered, even more than a year after giving birth. That, combined with the fact that I’m now 30 and really should be properly taking care of my skin to prevent wrinkles and further pigmentation, means that I am always on the lookout for new products to help me manage my skin. I was therefore very excited when I heard about Olay’s new facial cleansing brush – I had read about the Clarisonic brush before but wasn’t keen on forking out a couple of hundred dollars to try it.

130803 - Olay Regenerist Advanced Cleansing System 1

“A cleansing system designed to clean your skin up to four times better than a face wash alone. The rotating brush gently works cleanser into the skin for a deep-clean feel while giving the face a soft massage, and problems such as blemishes and dry patches could be dealt with by concentrating the brush on troublesome areas.” – olay.com.au

The Olay Regenerist Advanced Cleaning System retails for $32.49 (I bought mine from Priceline at the introductory price of $28.99, the day after the 40% skincare sale had ended. Gah!) and replacement brushes are about $9.00 each, which is a significant saving from the Clarisonic system where replacement brushes are nearly $30.00 alone.

Out of the box I received a brush unit, a rotating brush head (very easy to ‘click’ together), 2 x AA batteries and a tube of Olay Regenerist Skin Renewal Cleanser. I like it when companies include batteries with their products – how annoying is it when you come home all excited to open a new gadget or toy to realise you don’t have batteries for it?

130803 - Olay Regenerist Advanced Cleansing System 2

Because I didn’t want to shock my skin too much straight up, I decided to use my own cleanser with the brush. I am only using the brush once a day when I cleanse my face at night (even though Olay say you can use it twice a day), on the lower setting which feels perfect. I’m not actually sure why the faster setting is there – perhaps if you don’t use it every day and need a “stronger” clean?

This system is water resistant so you can even use it in the shower if that is where you cleanse your face. The instructions state to use the brush for approximately 60 seconds (I used the timer on my iPhone) which is plenty of time to slowly run the brush all over my face, getting into all the areas where make-up, oil and daily gunk can build up. You have to be careful to avoid your eye area though as the rotating brush can pull at the delicate skin.

I love how my face feels after cleansing with this brush – my skin feels so much softer and lighter, plus my face doesn’t feel “raw” like after I use a scrub or exfoliator. It is also amazing to see how much residual make-up it takes off my skin even after I have used make-up remover or a wipe, so I am confident that I will see some sort of improvement in my skin from just that alone. It is quite alarming actually considering I am such a stickler for making sure I take off all my make-up before bed no matter how tired I am. How much make-up have I actually been leaving on my face?!

I also love the fact that this brush gently removes the gunk and dead skin on my face which allows my moisturiser and eye cream to be absorbed more effectively. I’ve only been using this for a couple of days but my skin already seems brighter. I will keep you all up-to-date on my skin journey but am really liking this product so far and it is great value for money!

Have you tried the Olay system, or any other brush system and what did you think?

5 thoughts on “Olay Regenerist Advanced Cleaning System

  1. Great review! I ordered mine online as part of the sale because the stores I visited didnt stock it yet. Hopefully it comes on monday so I can start using it! I love that it’s waterproof so you can use it in the shower – which is where I cleanse my face. Totally agree with the battery inclusion thing too!

  2. Great post, I’m loving your blog. I haven’t tried one of these brushes but am quite tempted to after reading your post!

    • Thank you so much Ayshea! That’s the thing I like about this brush, it is so affordable so you can try it out without having to outlay a huge amount of money. My skin is so soft and I feel it looks so much brighter!

Leave a Reply

